According to the Luxembourg constitution, a communal council is elected in each municipality by the citizens who are eligible to vote. Ordinary communal elections are held every six years, with the last one having been held on 11th June 2023. The members of the municipal council are elected for a term of six years and their mandate starts as soon as they are sworn in after the vote.
In Walferdange, local elections are held by list system with proportional representation. Since the year 2000, the number of local councillors in Walferdange has been fixed at 13.

The next European elections will be held on 9 June 2024. Elections for the European Parliament are made by direct universal suffrage to elect six MPs with a five-year mandate.
To vote in the European elections, a voter must:
1. be a national of Luxembourg or of another member state of the European Union;
2. be at least 18 years of age on the day of the election;
3. enjoy civil rights and not have been stripped of the right to vote either in Luxembourg or in their home country;
4. be domiciled in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
Luxembourg nationals residing abroad may vote in the European elections by postal vote.
Luxembourg nationals are automatically registered on electoral lists.
Nationals of a European Union member country can register to vote in the European elections.

Registration on the electoral roll

The electoral roll is maintained and updated at the Biergercenter.
You can register on the electoral roll at the Biergercenter or via MyGuichet.lu

Deadline for registration :

Nationals of another Member State of the European Union who wish to participate for the first time at the European elections on 9 June 2024, must apply to be entered on the electoral roll by 5 p.m. on Monday, 15 April 2024 at the latest.

For more information on registering to vote in the European elections, please follow the link guichet.lu  or elections.public.lu or jepeuxvoter.lu

Postal voting